One of a kind…

A few days ago, I posted an incredible dress by One called „Adin”. Actually I had never heard about One, but at that moment, I did not pay any further attention. Yesterday, I discovered another dress by One and finally the story behind this label: every piece they sell is an original vintage dress, skirt etc. which is restored and sometimes re-styled a little bit by adding new things. Other vintage pieces are totally re-modelled like this upper part of a tunic which was originally a piano shawl.
The creative head behind and the founder of One is Marcelle Symons, who is a former partner in Paul & Joe UK Boutiques.
The whole idea behind One might not be new, but for me it was kind of an eye opener which made me realize how much is possible with old fabrics and clothes. What I like even more about this idea: old clothes, for most people already dead, are brought back to a wearable life.
I have already found a piece for an own renewing and remodelling project. As soon as I have some results I will post them (please be patient, I have a lot of projects going on…)

Vor ein paar Tagen habe ich unter der Rubrik “Currently in love with” ein Kleid von One gepostet. Dieses Label war mir eigentlich völlig unbekannt, dem habe ich aber erst mal keine weitere Beachtung geschenkt. Gestern stolperte ich dann über ein weiteres Stück von One und entdeckte, dass alles was von diesem Label verkauft wird, ursprünglich ein Vintagefund war, die in Stand gesetzt und ggf. etwas aufpoliert wurden. Andere Stücke sind hingegen einer vollkommen neuen Bestimmung zugeführt worden, wie dieses Tuch, das ursprünglich eine Schutzabdeckung für ein Klavier war, welches jetzt als Tunikaoberteil Verwendung findet.
Der kreative Kopf hinter
One sowie seine Gründerin ist Marcelle Symons, die vormals zum Team hinter dem Label Paul & Joe gehörte.
Die Idee von
One mag nicht neu sein, hat mir persönlich aber die Augen darüber geöffnet, was alles möglich ist mit alter Kleidung und Stoffen. Besonders gute gefällt mir an dieser Idee, dass eigentlich schon tot gesagte Kleidung (im Sinne, dass sie niemand mehr trägt), wieder zum Leben erweckt wird und neue Liebhaber findet.

Und da mich das ganze so begeistert, habe ich mir schon ein eigenes Vintagestück zur Erweckung gesucht. Sobald es Ergebnisse gibt, werde ich sie posten (allerdings kann das etwas dauern, ich habe nämlich sehr viele Projekte…)


one-grey-dove-top

A tunic made of a piano shawl

dresses1

skirt-jacket

all pictures via net-a-porter.com where you can buy One online – but be quick there is always only one piece!

Marcelle Symons has also a boutique in London
One Boutique, 30 Ledbury Road, Notting Hill, London W11

This entry was posted in Fashion, Labels, Vintage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

